In general, in order to receive a diagnosis of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, a patient must satisfy two criteria:

  • Have severe chronic fatigue of six months or longer duration with other known medical conditions excluded by clinical diagnosis, and
  • Concurrently have four or more of the following symptoms:
      - Substantial impairment in short-term memory or concentration.
    • - Sore throat.
    • - Tender lymph nodes, muscle pain.
    • - Multi-joint pain without swelling or redness.
    • - Headaches of a new type, pattern or severity.
    • - Unrefreshing sleep.

* Post-exertional malaise lasting more than 24 hours.

Source: Center for Disease Control